April 2,2024

The Administrative Committee for the Maryland State Retirement and Pension System convened, via a Webex video/audio conference call at 9:34 a.m.

The Committee Members present include:

Richard Norman, Chair Jamaal Craddock Robert Sandlass, Vice Chair Ayana English-Brown

Treasurer Dereck Davis

Marc Nicole (Designee for Helene Grady)

Agency Staff members present included: Martin Noven, Executive Director/ Secretary of the Board

Cheryl Davis-ShawKim O'KeeffeRobert DiehlBen RobbAnne GawthropDavid RongioneDerrick JohnsonCourtney Key

Megan Myers

Assistant Attorneys General present included: Rachel Cohen, Emily Spiering, and Michael Watts

Other attendees included: Jon Martin and Megan Schutz (Treasurer's Office); Joseph E. Clasing (Harford County Government)

Call Meeting to Order:

Mr. Norman, Chair of the Committee, having established there was a quorum called the meeting to order.

Prior to the motion being made to meet in closed session, Trustee Robert Sandlass, for the record, advised the Committee that as the Treasurer of Harford County Government, he would be recusing himself from the appeal.

CLOSED SESSION

On a motion made by Ms. English-Brown and seconded by Mr. Nicole, the Committee voted to meet in closed session, beginning at 9:35 a.m. via Webex video/audio conference call, for the purpose of:

conducting an administrative appeal of an individual participant, pursuant to General Provisions Art., § 3-103(a)(1)(iii), a quasi-judicial function and General Provisions Art., § 3-305(b)(13), to comply with a specific constitutional, statutory, or judicially imposed requirement that prevents public disclosure about a particular proceeding or matter, namely, General Provisions Art., § 4-312 regarding the prohibition on disclosing retirement records.

The Committee Members Present include:

Richard Norman, Chair Ayana English-Brown

Treasurer Dereck Davis Marc Nicole (Designee for Helene Grady)

Jamaal Craddock

April 2,2024

Agency Staff members present included: Martin Noven, Executive Director/ Secretary of the Board

Cheryl Davis-Shaw Megan Myers
Anne Gawthrop Kim O'Keeffe
Derrick Johnson David Rongione

Courtney Key

Assistant Attorneys General present included: Rachel Cohen, Emily Spiering, and Michael Watts

Other attendees: Jon Martin (Treasurer's Office); Joseph E. Clasing (Harford County Government)

On a motion made by Mr. Davis and seconded by Ms. English-Brown, the Committee returned to open session at 10:04 a.m. via Webex video/audio conference call.

OPEN SESSION

The Committee Members Present include:

Richard Norman, Chair Jamaal Craddock Robert Sandlass, Vice Chair Ayana English-Brown

Treasurer Dereck Davis Marc Nicole (Designee for Helene Grady)

Agency Staff members present included: Martin Noven, Executive Director/ Secretary of the Board

Cheryl Davis-Shaw Kim O'Keeffe
Robert Diehl Ben Robb
Anne Gawthrop David Rongione
Derrick Johnson Courtney Key

Megan Myers

Assistant Attorneys General present included: Rachel Cohen, Emily Spiering, and Michael Watts

Other attendees included: Jon Martin and Megan Schutz (Treasurer's Office)

Minutes:

On a motion made by Mr. Davis and seconded by Ms. English-Brown, the Committee approved the open session minutes for March 5, 2024.

Legislative Update:

Anne Gawthrop, Director of Legislative Affairs, reported that the current legislative session is winding down and that Agency-backed bills are moving as anticipated. She hopes to have good news when reporting the outcome of this year's legislative session at the upcoming Board meeting.

Benefits Administration Update:

Kim O'Keeffe, Director of Benefits Administration, reported that there were no major changes from January to February. The benefits administration unit continues to prepare for the fiscal year-end for the completion of processes. She also reported that higher call volume can be attributed to the current tax season.

April 2,2024

CLOSED SESSION

On a motion made by Ms. English-Brown and seconded by Mr. Davis, the Committee voted to meet in a Closed Session, beginning at 10:08 a.m. via Webex video/audio conference call, for the purposes of:

- (a) reviewing the closed session Committee minutes, pursuant to General Provisions Art., § 3-103(a)(1)(i), the exercise of an administrative function and General Provisions Art., § 3-305(b)(13), to comply with a specific statutory requirement that prevents public disclosure, namely, General Provisions Art., § 3-306(c)(3)(ii), requiring that the minutes of a closed session be sealed and not be open to public inspection;
- (b) discussing the administrative appeal of a participating governmental unit, pursuant to General Provisions Art., § 3-103(a)(1)(iii), a quasi-judicial function and General Provisions Art., § 3-305(b)(13), to comply with a specific constitutional, statutory, or judicially imposed requirement that prevents public disclosure about a particular proceeding or matter, namely, General Provisions Art., § 4-312 regarding the prohibition on disclosing retirement records.

The Committee Members Present include:

Richard Norman, Chair

Robert Sandlass, Vice Chair (For Item A only)

Jamaal Craddock

Ayana English-Brown

Treasurer Dereck Davis

Marc Nicole (Designee for Helene Grady)

Agency Staff members present included: Martin Noven, Executive Director/ Secretary of the Board

Cheryl Davis-Shaw Megan Myers
Anne Gawthrop Kim O'Keeffe
Courtney Key David Rongione

Derrick Johnson

Assistant Attorneys General present included: Rachel Cohen and Michael Watts

Other attendees included: Jon Martin (Treasurer's Office)

On a motion made by Ms. English-Brown and seconded by Mr. Davis, the Committee returned to open session at 10:13 a.m. via Webex video/audio conference call.

OPEN SESSION

The Committee Members Present include:

Richard Norman, Chair Jamaal Craddock Robert Sandlass, Vice Chair Ayana English-Brown

Treasurer Dereck Davis Marc Nicole (Designee for Helene Grady)

April 2,2024

Agency Staff members present included: Martin Noven, Executive Director/ Secretary of the Board

Cheryl Davis-Shaw Kim O'Keeffe
Robert Diehl Ben Robb
Anne Gawthrop David Rongione
Derrick Johnson Courtney Key

Megan Myers

Assistant Attorneys General present included: Rachel Cohen and Michael Watts

Other attendees included: Jon Martin and Megan Schutz (Treasurer's Office)

During the closed session, the Committee discussed the matters identified in the motion to meet in closed session, and acted on the following matters:

Closed Session Minutes:

The Committee approved the March 5, 2024, closed session Administrative Committee meeting minutes.

Administrative Appeal for Harford County:

The Committee adopted the Executive Director's recommendation for summary decision for recommendation to the Board of Trustees.

Adjournment:

There being no further business before the Committee, on a motion made by Ms. English-Brown and seconded by Mr. Davis, the meeting adjourned at 10:14 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Martin Noven

Secretary of the Board