

ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE FOR THE MARYLAND STATE RETIREMENT AND PENSION SYSTEM MINUTES OF MEETING

August 6, 2024

The Administrative Committee for the Maryland State Retirement and Pension System convened, via a Webex video/audio conference call, beginning at 9:31 a.m.

The Administrative Committee present included:

Richard Norman, Chair

Robert Sandlass, Vice Chair

Jamaal Craddock

Treasurer Dereck Davis

Ayana English-Brown

Marc Nicole (Designee for Secretary Helene Grady)

Agency Staff members present included: Martin Noven, Executive Director/Secretary of the Board

Melody Countess Katherine Morris
Cheryl Davis-Shaw Megan Myers
Robert Diehl Kim O'Keeffe
Anne Gawthrop Chandra Puranam

Derrick Johnson Ben Robb

Courtney Key David Rongione

Tom Montanye

Assistant Attorneys General present included: Rachel Cohen and Emily Spiering

Other Attendees included: Catherine Hackman (DBM), Jon Martin (Treasurer's Office); Joe Gutberlet (DLS)

Open Session Meeting Minutes:

On a motion made by Ms. English-Brown and seconded by Mr. Nicole, the Committee approved the open session meeting minutes for the meeting held on June 4, 2024.

Summary of the Agency's IT Master Plan for FY 2025:

Mr. Robert Diehl, Information Systems Officer, presented the Agency's FY2025 IT Master Plan to the Administrative Committee. His presentation covered the IS Management Team, a review of fiscal year 2024, activities planned for fiscal year 2025, and future IT operating expenses.

On a motion made by Mr. Sandlass and seconded by Mr. Craddock, the Committee voted to meet in a closed session beginning at 10:00 a.m. via a Webex video/audio conference call for the purposes of:

- (a) reviewing the closed session committee minutes, pursuant to General Provisions Art., § 3-103(a)(1)(i), the exercise of an administrative function and General Provisions Art., § 3-305(b)(13), to comply with a specific statutory requirement that prevents public disclosure, namely, General Provisions Art., § 3-306(c)(3)(ii), requiring that the minutes of a closed session be sealed and not be open to public inspection.
- (b) discussing evaluation forms pertaining to the performance evaluation of the Executive Director, pursuant to General Provisions Art., Section 3-305(b)(1)(i), to discuss the appointment, employment,



ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE FOR THE MARYLAND STATE RETIREMENT AND PENSION SYSTEM MINUTES OF MEETING

August 6, 2024

assignment, promotion, discipline, demotion, compensation, removal, resignation, or performance evaluation of an appointee, employee, or official over whom it has jurisdiction.

Closed Session

The Administrative Committee present included: Richard Norman, Chair Robert Sandlass, Vice Chair Jamaal Craddock Treasurer Dereck Davis Ayana English-Brown Marc Nicole (Designee for Secretary Helene Grady)

Agency Staff members present: Martin Noven, Executive Director/Secretary of the Board (Agenda Items 5 and 7 only)

Assistant Attorney General present: Rachel Cohen (Agenda Items 5 and 7 only)

Other attendees present: Catherine Hackman, Acting Executive Director of Employee Benefits and Services for the Department of Budget and Management

On a motion made by Ms. English-Brown and seconded by Mr. Nicole, the Committee returned to open session beginning at 10:25 a.m. via a video/audio conference call.

Open session

The Administrative Committee present included:

Richard Norman, Chair

Robert Sandlass, Vice Chair

Jamaal Craddock

Treasurer Dereck Davis

Ayana English-Brown

Marc Nicole (Designee for Secretary Helene Grady)

Agency Staff members present included: Martin Noven, Executive Director/Secretary of the Board

Melody CountessMegan MyersCheryl Davis-ShawKim O'KeeffeDerrick JohnsonChandra Puranam

Courtney Key Ben Robb

Tom Montanye David Rongione

Katherine Morris

Assistant Attorneys General present included: Rachel Cohen



ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE FOR THE MARYLAND STATE RETIREMENT AND PENSION SYSTEM MINUTES OF MEETING

August 6, 2024

During the closed session, the Administration Committee discussed and acted on the following matters:

Closed Session Meeting Minutes:

The Committee approved the closed session minutes for the meeting held on June 4, 2024.

Adjournment:

There being no further business before the Committee, on a motion made by Ms. English-Brown and seconded by Mr. Craddock, the meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Martin Noven

Secretary of the Board