# THE CORPORATE GOVERNACE AND SECURITIES LITIGATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

# MARYLAND STATE RETIREMENT AND PENSION SYSTEM

#### MINUTES OF MEETING

July 14, 2022

The Corporate Governance and Securities Litigation Committee for the Maryland State Retirement and Pension System convened, via videoconference call with the host site at the SunTrust Building, 120 East Baltimore Street, 16th Floor, Board Room, Baltimore, Maryland, beginning at 11:04 a.m.

Committee Members Thomas Brandt Sheila Hill

Attending: David Brinkley Douglas Prouty (Chair)

James Daly

Also Attending: Rachel Cohen (OAG) Andrew Palmer

Mimi Forbes Janet Sirkis

Angie Jenkins Emily Spiering (OAG)

Martin Noven Toni Voglino

Mr. Prouty called the meeting to order at 11:04 am.

#### Action Item #2: Motion by the Committee to meet in Closed Session

On a motion made by Mr. Brandt and seconded by Mr. Daly, the Committee voted without objection to meet in closed session, via video/audio conference call, beginning at 11:05 a.m. for the purposes of (a) receiving advice of counsel regarding a recently-filed securities class action litigation case, pursuant to General Provisions Art., § 3-305(b)(7), to consult with counsel to obtain legal advice and General Provisions Art., § 3-305(b)(8), to consult with staff, consultants or other individuals regarding pending or potential litigation.

## **Closed Session**

Committee Thomas Brandt Sheila Hill

Members David Brinkley Douglas Prouty (Chair)

Attending: James Daly

Also Attending: Rachel Cohen (OAG) Andrew Palmer

Mimi Forbes Janet Sirkis

Angie Jenkins Emily Spiering (OAG)

Martin Noven Toni Voglino

During closed session, the Committee consulted with legal counsel and staff concerning a pending litigation matter, pursuant to General Provisions Art., Sec. 3-305(b)(7) and (8), and voted to adopt the recommendation presented.

## Action Item #4: Adjournment of Closed Session and Return to Open Session:

On a motion by Mr. Brandt and seconded by Mr. Daly, the Committee voted, without objection to return to open session, via video/audio conference call at 11:28 a.m.

Committee Members Thomas Brandt Sheila Hill

Attending: David Brinkley Douglas Prouty (Chair)

James Daly

Also Attending: Rachel Cohen (OAG) Andrew Palmer

Mimi Forbes Janet Sirkis

Angie Jenkins Emily Spiering (OAG)

Martin Noven Toni Voglino

#### Action Item #5: Adjournment of Open Session

There being no further business before the Committee, on a motion made by Mr. Brandt and seconded by Mr. Daly, the meeting adjourned at 11:28 a.m.

Toni Voglino