# THE CORPORATE GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES MARYLAND STATE RETIREMENT AND PENSION SYSTEM

### MINUTES OF MEETING

### **November 7, 2018**

The Corporate Governance Committee met on Wednesday, November 7, 2018. The meeting was held in the Board Room on the 16th floor of the State Retirement Agency, 120 E. Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21202 and via conference call.

Members Attending: David Brinkley (via phone) Charles Johnson (via phone)

James Harkins (via phone)

Sheila Hill, Chairman (via

phone)

Also Attending: Susanne Brogan (via Alex Harisiadis (OAG)

phone) Dean Kenderdine

Rachel Cohen (OAG)
Andrew Palmer
Anne Gawthrop
Michael Golden
Jody Shaw (OAG)
Toni Voglino

Nancy K. Kopp (via phone)

Ms. Hill called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m.

### **Minutes**

On a motion made by Mr. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Harkins, the minutes from the August 21, 2018 meeting were ratified by the Committee.

### **Motion by the Committee to Meet in Closed Session**

On a motion made by Ms. Hill and seconded by Mr. Brinkley, the Committee voted to meet in closed session beginning at 4:05 p.m. for the purpose of:

- a) reviewing the August 21, 2018 Closed Session minutes, pursuant to General Provisions Art.,§ 3-103(a)(1)(i), the exercise of an administrative function; and
- b) considering a request to participate in a corporate governance/shareholder engagement activity in connection with System investments in a particular industry, pursuant to Md. Code Ann., General Provisions Art., § 3-305(b)(13), to comply with a specific statutory imposed requirement that prevents public disclosure about a particular proceeding or matter, namely General

Provisions Art., § 4-335, to protect confidential commercial information obtained from any person or governmental unit.

# **Closed Session**

Members Attending: David Brinkley (via phone) Charles Johnson (via phone)

James Harkins (via phone) Nancy K. Kopp (via phone)

Sheila Hill, Chairman (via

phone)

Also Attending: Susanne Brogan (via Alex Harisiadis (OAG)

phone) Dean Kenderdine Rachel Cohen (OAG) Andrew Palmer Anne Gawthrop Jody Shaw (OAG)

Michael Golden Toni Voglino

## **Closed Session Adjournment**

On a motion made by Ms. Kopp and seconded by Mr. Brinkley, the Committee returned to open session at 4:35 p.m.

# **Adjournment**

There being no further business before the Committee, on a motion made by Mr. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Brinkley, the meeting adjourned 4:35 p.m.

Toni	Voglino	