Organizational Structure


Organizational Structure

Board of Trustees

Dereck E. Davis
State Treasurer, Chair

Brooke Lierman
State Comptroller, Vice-Chair

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms

  • Linda Vaughn Allen, 2022-2026
  • James P. Daly, Jr., 2021-2025
  • Michael J. Howard, 2019-2023
  • Mia N. Pittman, 2023-2027
  • Michelle RhodesBrown, 2023-2027
  • Robert F. Sandlass, Jr., 2021-2025
  • Matthew Wyskiel, 2020-2024

Elected by members and beneficiaries of the Employees’ Retirement and Pension Systems

  • Jamaal R. A. Craddock, 2021-2025
  • Sheila Hill, 2023-2027

Elected by members and beneficiaries of the State Police Retirement System

  • Richard E. Norman, 2022-2026

Elected by members and beneficiaries of the Teachers’ Retirement and Pension Systems

  • Douglas Prouty, 2021-2025
  • Ayana K. English-Brown, 2023-2027

Ex officio

  • Dereck E. Davis, Treasurer
  • Brooke Lierman, Comptroller of the Treasury
  • Helene Grady, Acting Secretary of Budget and Management

Legal Counsel

Rachel S. Cohen, Principal Counsel, OAG

Investment Committee

Chosen by the Board of Trustees

  • Michael J. Howard, Chair
  • James P. Daly, Jr., Vice-Chair
  • Dereck E. Davis
  • Helene Grady
  • Sheila Hill
  • Brooke Lierman
  • Richard E. Norman
  • Douglas Prouty
  • Michelle RhodesBrown

Public members appointed to three-year terms by the Board, with approval by the Board of Public Works

  • Michael K. Barry, July 1, 2022-June 30, 2025
  • Sharcus Steen, July 1, 2023-June 30, 2026
  • Monte Tarbox, July 1, 2021-June 30, 2024

Audit Committee

Chosen by the Board

  • Mia N. Pittman, Chair
  • Michael J. Howard, Vice-Chair
  • Linda Vaughn Allen
  • Jamaal R. A. Craddock
  • Richard E. Norman
  • Robert F. Sandlass, Jr.

Administrative Committee

Chosen by the Board

  • Richard E. Norman, Chair
  • Linda Vaughn Allen, Vice-Chair
  • Jamaal R. A. Craddock
  • Dereck E. Davis
  • Ayana K. English-Brown
  • Helene Grady
  • Robert F. Sandlass, Jr.

Corporate Governance and Securities Litigation Committee

Chosen by the Board

  • Douglas Prouty, Chair
  • Sheila Hill, Vice-Chair
  • James P. Daly, Jr.
  • Helene Grady
  • Michael J. Howard
  • Brooke Lierman
  • Michelle RhodesBrown
  • Robert F. Sandlass, Jr.

State Retirement Agency

Martin Noven, Executive Director

Internal Audit

David Rongione, CFE, CRMA, Chief Internal Auditor

Business Operations Office

Chandra Puranam, Chief Business Operations Officer
Harris Kaplan, Deputy Chief Business Operations Officer

External Affairs

Michael D. Golden, Director
Anne E. Gawthrop, Esq., Director of Legislative Affairs

Finance Division

Melody L. Countess, CPA, Chief Operating Officer
Patricia Fitzhugh, Deputy Chief Operating Officer

Budget and Contracts

Van Lewis, Director

General Accounting

Delores Mitchell, Director

Fiscal Accounting

Sabeena Sylvester, Director

Office Services

Lawrence Banks, Director

Information Systems

Robert Diehl, Chief Information Systems Officer
Thomas Montanye, Deputy Chief Information Systems Officer

Pension Systems Operation

Vincent Johnson, Director

Network Operations

Joe Puller, Director

Systems Development

Lowen Crusan, Director

Information Systems Security and Quality

David S. Toft, Sr., CISSP, Director

Investment Division

Andrew C. Palmer, CFA, Chief Investment Officer
Robert Burd, CFA, Deputy Chief Investment Officer

Managing Directors

David Ferguson, CFA
Dimitri Grechenko, CFA
Danita Johnson
Larry P. Katsafanas, CFA
Gregory Kasten, CFA

Retirement Administration Division

Kimberly O’Keeffe, Retirement Administrator
Megan Myers, Deputy Retirement Administrator
Derrick Johnson, Deputy Retirement Administrator

Special Projects

Sarah Carta, Director

Member Services and Counseling

Gwendolyn Mulcahy, Director
Shane Brown, Deputy Director

Benefits Processing

Charles D. So, Director
Carla Foster, Deputy Director

Data Control

Leshia Cornish-Covington, Director
Nick Harmon, Deputy Director